A new key and as happy as a fat hog in the sun

Aaron Bailey

Greetings fellow QRPers,    My name is George Bailey WA5HRC and I'm on the same wavelength with you as I operate QRP with a HW-8 that I built in 1980 and, just to make you drool, I also have an unbuilt  HW-8 still in the sealed factory box that I hold as a spare.  I'm new to the newsgroup and mainly I enjoy reading and learning from the different postings.    But now I have a burning question that cannot be found with a google and I need to pick at the collective brain of the group.   At a hamfest recently, it was my good fortune to find and purchase a mint condition WWII Navy Flameproof Key # CMI-26003A.  It is such a nice key to send with that I've shelved my trusty ole J-38.   Between the adjustment screws is what looks to be a 6/32 screw and when removed it is only about 3/16 of a inch long.  When I shine a light down into the screw hole I see only a void area.  As to the function of this screw, I would guess it is acting as a cap for the void and further that some compound, lube and/or contact cleaner,  is supposed to be sprayed into the key through the screw hole.  Can anyone expand on this?
72/73
George

marjannorm

Hi there, and welcome to the group.  Yep, I had one of those years ago.  The screw plays a vital role in blocking up an otherwise unused hole.
just my 2 cents worth.....
kinjd regards
Norm VK5GI
(note the Ozzie humour there......)

WA0ITP

GM George,

Don't think I'd spray stuff inside the Flameproof. But you do have one of the
very best straight keys out there. If it's acting normal, dont mess with it,
especially don't take it apart. There have been mournful posts describing the
number of parts and the difficulty of reasembly.

Enjoy the key, its a dandy.

----------------------------------
I love this radio stuff !
72 WA0ITP
www.wa0itp.com
www.4sqrp.com

----- Original Message -----
To: 4sqrp@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Thursday, March 13, 2014 3:44 AM